Book Review: Fyodor Dostoevsky by Peter Leithart

Image courtesy of the publisher

Image courtesy of the publisher

Note: This book review originally appeared on my old site, leahatha.com and was published on January 14, 2012.

Way back in 1999, honors English, I encountered the first novel, ever, that was a true challenge and a drudgery to get through.  That novel was Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky.  In light of that revelation, I’m sure it comes as a surprise to you that I chose to review a biography on the life of Fyodor Dostoevsky. This brief biography covers the main events in Mr. Dostoevsky’s life, from childhood to death.  The book conveys most of this information in the form of a conversation between Mr. Dostoevsky and a friend, Apollon Maikov.

I must say that after reading the biography by Mr. Leithart that I have resolved to read Crime and Punishment again, as well as Mr. Dostoevsky’s other works.  Mr. Leithart wrote his biography in such a way that it reads more like a novel than a book of facts about a long deceased author.  The author has also done a wonderful job of providing notes to back up the documented parts of Mr. Dostoevsky’s life and giving credit where credit is due.  I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys biographies or to reluctant high school seniors who find themselves assigned the task of reading Crime and Punishment.

Particulars: I was provided an ebook to review.  This book is also available in paperback.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Fyodor Dostoevsky by Peter Leithart

  1. I thought Crime & Punishment was going to be a slog, too, but it turned out to be a wild ride. Much crazier, and more horrible, and more disturbing. And funny, too!

Leave a Reply

