“Official” Progress.

I had a meeting with the officials assigned to work with us in our state’s early intervention program today. I have to admit that I haven’t been looking forward to it. It isn’t easy to see your child through someone else’s eyes. It also isn’t easy to hear their thoughts and opinions on public school, while keeping your opinions to yourself.

As is usually the case with something I dread, it wasn’t a list of the goals I’d failed to achieve with Our Boy, but instead a glowing review of the progress our OT has seen in him. Of the list of goals I mentioned when we entered the program in January, we’ve achieved all but two-functional communication using signs, words or cards and using a utensil for the duration of a meal for most meals. We lost a good amount of the progress we’d made in Our Boy’s communication while under the ST provided by this program. In hindsight, I wish that we had kept him in private therapy. BUT we were able to get back into private therapy and although we couldn’t get his original therapist again our current therapist is working out quite well.

We also chose to focus on keeping him in his seat for meals, instead of utensil use. After all, what good is a utensil if you aren’t in your seat to use it? So that is the next “battle” we face in this journey.

If I’ve learned anything, it’s that we have to pick and choose our battles.

As for the public preK program, they merely suggested that I mention my concerns to the staff. I declined to allow a copy of today’s report to be sent to the school so I think they have an idea that we won’t be going that route (God willing).

At the end of the meeting I was awarded with huge smiles and “Great job!” “He’s made such wonderful progress!”

Of course it didn’t hurt that Our Boy spent much of his time examining the necklace, ink pen and face of the coordinator, who he hasn’t seen in six months. In addition, he made lotsof eye contact and spent most of his time on the couch with them, instead of close to me.

20130712-163223.jpg

Leave a Reply

