So,about autism…

IMG_2129

This post is one of a few that has come about after I received some questions and concerns from friends and family that are related to autism spectrum disorder. After our oldest child was diagnosed in December 2012, I stopped all pursuit of freelance work as learning to understand and help our child was (and still is) a greater priority. However, in ceasing public blog writing, I also cut off one of the more efficient ways to communicate what I’m sure looks like a strange and crazy life to those around us. In writing these posts, I have no desire to “go viral” or argue with the general public. For my sanity’s sake, I’ve turned off the comment section of this post. 

Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) is an umbrella term, and a diagnosis is important in getting insurance and other entities to do what they’re supposed to do. Research tends to fall into three categories: genetic, the gut brain connection, and other environmental factors (in my opinion, this does include damage from vaccinations). In time, I expect some of these to become their own “label”.  Or that we will see an increase in diagnosis of ASD paired with co-occuring conditions like: gut/brain inflammation, epilepsy, etc. Currently

it’s most likely to be paired with speech and sensory difficulties than anything else. The current rate of ASD is 1 in 59, and that’s based on data from 2014, and a birth year of 2006. As you can see, data lags a bit behind reality. Some predictions have the rate as high as 1 in 2 by 2020 or 2021. 

You can find more information at the CDC website, but know that I don’t agree with some of their definition, specifically that those with ASD have no interest in other people. I believe that they do, it’s just shown in socially inappropriate ways. I hope to post more on this topic soon, but for now we have books to read, and fine motor skills to practice.